Connect with us


2nd T20I: Rohit Sharma, Axar Patel power India to 6-wicket win over Australia in 8-over game




India rode championships Captain Rohit Sharma and Axar Patel left wheel to defeat Australia by six wickets in a rainy 8-over-per-side game in Nagpur.

Captain Rohit Sharma starred in India’s win over Australia (AP Photo)


  • India chased a target 91 times to reach Tier 1-1 of the T20I series
  • Captain Rohit Sharma scored 46 unbeaten goals to help India beat Australia
  • Wade scored 43 unbeaten to lead Australia to the 90-5 Challenge

Captain Rohit Sharma led from the front to help India fire the 91st run and beat Australia by six wickets in a rainy 8-over-per-side game to settle the three-game T20I series in Nagpur.

Rohit Sharma, who seemed to only handle sixes, and KL Rahul helped India take off quickly by adding 30 hits in their first two Powerplay performances. Then Adam Zampa was introduced to the attack and the spinner didn’t disappoint his captain and took KL Rahul’s share on the first time.

India and Australia, 2 T20I: Highlights

Zampa completely changed the game by sending off star striker Virat Kohli and brilliant Suryakumar Yadav in successive deliveries, but India was still ahead of the required rate.


Hardik Pandya and Rohit Sharma gave time to unite the roles but the former left in the penultimate. Rohit Sharma remained undefeated at number 46 in 20 deliveries only to take his team home with Dinesh Karthik. Adam Zampa was by far the bowler’s pick, claiming three wickets and conceding only 16 points in his two sets.

Earlier, wicket-keeper Matthew Wade scored an unbeaten 43 to lead Australia to a frightening 90-5 against hosts India in the second T2I, which was marred by rain, on Friday.

Australia started on a positive note with Captain Aaron Finch playing the role of the aggressor. A fine piece of the field from Virat Kohli eliminated last game Centurion’s half, Cameron Green, and the decision to dismiss Aksar Patel early on was a huge blow as he claimed Glenn Maxwell and Tim David’s share to tie Australia back in.

Aaron Finch walked all the way and did a Rapid Fire 31 before being knocked out by Jaspreet Pomerah with a yorker brand. Matthew Wade continued his good form and played some great batting en route to 43 runs as he led Australia to the 90 mark. Axar Patel was the bowler’s pick, taking two wickets in his set of 2 and conceding just 13 runs.

The draw was postponed over three hours due to wet pitch at VCA Stadium. The game finally started at 9:30 PM local time, two and a half hours after the scheduled start of play. India made two changes with Jaspreet Pomerah replacing Umesh Yadav and Rishabh Pant for bowling Buffeneshwar Kumar. Australia also made two changes, with Daniel Sams and Sean Abbott replacing Nathan Ellis and Josh English.

–is over–


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Copyright © 2022 Theme by The Nitesh Arya.